serums

I never really understood the concept of facial serums.  My skin type is oily and prone to break outs, so it is often better to have less than more layers of product on my skin.  For that same reason, it’s hard for me to find a night cream that keeps me from breaking out or feeling like a pound of butter is on my skin.  So, while I was in South Korea a few years ago, I started experimenting with using serums as my night cream.  When I got back, I had a free make up consultation as a Sephora® VIB™ at my local store and my make up expert said that it was a great idea!  It helps to rejuvenate my skin without weighing it down and brightens it at the same time!

As a Sephora® VIB™, I have been taking advantage of free samples and gifts to experiment with different brands of serum.  Here are some of my hits and misses.

Hits –

Caudalie® Vinexpert Firming Serum – I love this.  It goes on and feels like a lotion on my skin.  Not too sticky and no oily finish.

SkinFood® golden kiwi serum – goes on well and feels like a lotion on my skin.  It also helps to brighten my skin as well!  Not available at Sephora®, but at a SkinFood® boutique in the US or Asia.

SkinFood® peach sake serum – absorbs well and leaves a nice matte finish.  More like a serum vs. the golden kiwi is more like a lotion.  Not available at Sephora®, but at a SkinFood® boutique in the US or Asia.

Shisedo® Bio-performance super corrective serum – this is really nice.  It absorbs quickly into your skin, leaving a velvety texture.

Ole Henriksen® truth serum® – not too sticky and dries quickly after application.  It makes my skin a bit oily when I wake up in the morning but I can live with that.

Ole Hendriksen® utlimate lift™ firming serum – not as oily or as sticky as the truth serum® but thicker with a minty smell.

Dior® One Essential – not very oily and goes on really nicely, but expensive

Misses –

Do Not Age with Dr. Brandt™ transforming pearl serum – this is sticky and oily.  It is very uncomfortable.

Shisedo® Wite lucent total brightening serum – very wet and doesn’t absorb very well.  It leaves a very oily finish on my skin.

Jurlique® purely bright treatment serum – not sticky and absorbs quickly into my skin.  BUT IT SMELLS HORRIBLE.

 

IMG_4299

Leave a Reply

