House of Chicken and Waffles

I love chicken and waffles.  I will always remember the first time I ever had it – the combination of waffles (my favorite breakfast food), fried chicken, butter, and maple syrup just blew me a way.  What an amazing concept!

In Oakland, California, there is actually a restaurant called the House of Chicken and Waffles.  While I have had many renditions of this combination over the years, House of Chicken and Waffles is just fine.  Not the best, but certainly not the the worst.  Serving all the southern staples in a diner type setting, it’s definitely worth a visit.

My usual order is Annie’s Delight – Fried chicken breast with a waffle and a bowl of grits

IMG_8864  The fried chicken here always brings me back to memories of delicious fried goodness from Willie Mae’s Scotch House in New Orleans, Louisiana.  The perfect amount of batter fried to perfection, while leaving a perfectly juicy breast on the inside.  The grits are heavy with butter and I can usually only stomach about half the bowl.  The waffle is thin and crisp, and easy to roll up with some chicken for the perfect bite.

Another go to is Lord BJ’s platter, 4 pieces of southern fried chicken and 2 waffles

  Southern fried chicken has less flour and more spice in the coating.  This is a great plate to share or for yourself, if you are really hungry.  I like the regular fried chicken better but this is not half bad.

My little godson is a fan of Billy’s Best – fried giblets and a waffle.  I am not a fan of the giblets but I’m always surprised with how many people order this one!

IMG_8905

You can get collard greens, potato salads, black eyed peas, yams, and other southern fixings to go with your fried chicken.  I like sitting at the bar in their Walnut Creek location, so that I can watch the plates of fried goodness come out.  The menu is long and options are many, but I always go back to my chicken and waffles with a glass of sweet tea.

http://www.homeofchickenandwaffles.com/restaurant.html

Leave a Reply

