Risotto with Kale pesto 

Here’s another dish from the 2015 February issue of Bon Appetit.  It is a recipe found on page 46 for a low maintenance and easy risotto with a kale walnut pesto.  But I have made risotto so many times that it was hard to deviate from my regular way of doing things.  So, I made the pesto as described and then made a regular risotto in my dutch oven over the stove top.

IMG_9283

For good flavor, I used a cup of Ledson Chardonnay from 2007 (see related post “wineries of sonoma”).  It is true what they say – cook with a wine that you would drink on it’s own and this is one of my faves.  I think the risotto is great for vegetarians but could use some meat for us carnivores.  The next time I make this, I’m going to add bacon…

Leave a Reply

