The Dock at Linden Street

Tonight, we celebrated one of my good friend’s birthday with a delicious meal at the Dock at Linden Street in Oakland.  I have been a longtime fan of James Syhabout – Commis, Hawker Fare, and the now closed Box and Bells have been some of my favorites in Oakland for years.  This was also my first time at The Dock, the newest in Syhabout’s collection of great restaurants, and I knew I was in for a treat.

Every meal starts off with a cocktail and tonight was no different!  I got their “Front Porch” – rum, peach, sherry, basil, lime and bitters – to sip on as we perused the menu.

IMG_7513

We got things going with their caesar popcorn:

IMG_7514  It’s got anchovies, lemon and black pepper, chives, and grana padano cheese.  It was on the “wet” side, if you could describe it as that.  Not what I would expect for popcorn but delicious nonetheless.

Here is their crispy potatoes with charred octopus, oil cured olive, wild fennel and preserved lemon:

IMG_7519  The potatoes were still piping hot and was absolutely fantastic with all the different flavors and textures going around.  The cured olives was an interesting touch and really gave the dish a “punch”.

Next was their beef tartare:

IMG_7516 with truffle puree, puffed farro, sunchoke chips, shallot, and cured egg yolk.  I loved this – again with the flavor and textures but the beef was so fresh and the combination was like a party in my mouth.  LOVED the sunchoke chips – an I get a bag of them somewhere!?!?!

I had thought foie gras was banned in California but didn’t bother to ask when this dish came out:

IMG_7517  Their foie gras mousse with chinese five spice, hoisin sauce, garlic, fried mushrooms, all mixed together to eat with twice cooked fried buns.  OMG.  This was one of the best things I have eaten in a long time.  I hate to admit that I’m generally not the biggest fan of foie gras – too decadent for me.  BUT THIS????  I could eat it all day and AGAIN, BRAVO with the mix of flavors and textures.

My friend got their polenta with egg yolk, fried shishito, corn, taragon and espellette.

IMG_7520  Talk about interesting use of the polenta as a vehicle for some creative cooking!  So much going on, but all blended so perfectly together.

I got their wagyu hanger steak with charred little gem, leek oyster cream, pickled pearl onion.

IMG_7523  The leak oyster cream was not my favorite, I have to admit, but a bite of this most tender beef with some charred lettuce and pickled onion all together?  So yummy.  The waitress suggested we try some of the foie gras mousse on the beef and that was a FANTASTIC idea!

And to finish off this epic dinner, we got their West Oakland Tan Sundae

IMG_7524  Salted scotch caramel, malt balls, graham cracker and fudge brownies.  This is the best combination of flavors ever and I am not ashamed to admit that I licked the bowl.

I love you, James Syhabout.  You’ve done it again!

http://www.thedockoakland.com/

 

Leave a Reply

