Vacation Sampler

Whenever I go on vacation, I love to taking samples with me to try out.  They are lighter and take up less space than a collection of bottles for face wash, exfoliator, lotion, etc.  It can be a gamble, since you don’t know how your skin will react to new products but it’s a risk I don’t mind taking.  Afterall, I’m often in another country and who’s going to look at me long enough to remember?  🙂

On my most recent travels to Europe in May, I tested out these samples:

1)  For the face:

– Tata Harper® regenerating cleanser.  This gave a good clean to my skin and exfoliated with a sand like consistency in the wash.  The floral scent was nice and not too overpowering.  This gets a thumbs up.

– Face Soap and Clarity, a facial wash by Soap and Glory®, with vit C.  The vitamin C is in forms of beads, which also help to give an exfoliating effect.  It had a nice smell and gave a good clean

– Philosophy®’s Purity 3 in one.  I actually have never liked the face washes by Philosophy® but this gave a better clean than any I have tried before from them.  Not as good as other products out there, but best from this line for sure.

– NUDE® detox brightening fizzy powder wash.  As in the name, it is a powder which dissolves in water to become an exfoliating wash.  It does not have a scent but really gave a nice clean.

– Sunday Riley® ceramic slip.  This was more of a mask than a face wash as advertised but didn’t give enough foam.  It also had a consistency of clay and was better applied with a brush than with your fingers.  Note to self – buy this if you want a mask but not a wash.

– GlamGlow® Supermud Cleaning treatment.  This was just ok – I think their exfoliating cleanser is a better product.

– Boscia® Tsubuki Cleansing oil gel.  There is no foam at all with application and my skin didn’t really feel clean afterwards.

– Ole Henriksen®’s pure truth melting cleanser (aka their 3 in one cleansing gelee).  It applies on like gel, had a weird smell, and my skin did not feel clean.

– Lancer X Dermatology®’s Natural Sea Mineral polish.  it has a nice smell and exfoliating is intense as the salt doesn’t melt away like other sea mineral polishes I have used

2)  For overnight

– Jurlique® Herbal Recovery Night Cream.  This was nice – I have really oily skin and so night creams tend to make my face seem liked I walked out of the fryer in the middle.  But this did not – my skin did not feel oily at all.  There is a nice subtle floral smell to it as well.

– Shisedo® Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate.  I love Shisedo® and this product was nice but made me oily in the morning.

– Fresh® Black Tea Anti-aging cream.  Nice smell and smooth to apply but a little too oily for me

– Ole Henriksen®’s Anti-aging oil.  This was just like pouring oil out of the packet and, needless to say, very oily!

– Laniege® water bank serum.  Very light and clean.  Love this product and this brand!

3)  For the Eye

– Shishedo® Benefiance wrinkle resist 24.  This was nice – not irritating to the eye, no weird scent, and no residue in the morning.

– Verso® Super eye serum with Retinol 8.  There is a zing on the skin around the eye upon application.  Really nice.

– Dior® Hydrolife.  This is nice and gives a zing to your skin upon application and comes out real thick.

4)  Face Masks

– Bliss® multi-face-eyed all in one anti aging clay mask.  Dries fast and seems to suck everything up out of your skin.  After washing off, your skin is left with a really soft finish

– Tata Harper® regenerating mask.  It is a jelly consistency that dries quickly and has no smell.  In general, I don’t like using jelly because it is always hard to take off.

– Sunday Riley® good genes.  Unlike the ceremic slip, it is sold as a mask.  And while you can feel the tingles on your skin as the mask dries, sucking out all the dirt and oils, the mask has a weird smell and I couldn’t wait to get it off!

– Dr Dennis Gross®’s Original Formula alpha beta daily face peel.  It is a 2 step anti aging peel that strips off all the oils and dead skin on your face.  It’s pretty harsh – you wipe it over the face and don’t wash off.  I prefer masks instead.

– Fresh® black tea instant perfecting mask.  This is one of my favorites – much like their rose face mask.  Smooth on, great scent, and good clean with a soft finish.

– Omorovicza® balm.  Goes on like a lotion but is really oily and didn’t really clean my skin.

5)  For the Hair

– Briogreo®’s Don’t despair, repair! deep conditioning mask with rose hip, avocado and argon oil.  This was fantastic!  Made my hair silky and smooth after days of harsh water and travel!

6)  For the Body

– Supergoop!®  Everyday Sunscreen.  This is not bad – protects without being sticky or irritating to the skin.

– Soap & Glory®’s look better naked body cream.  This is thick but very sugary, making me feel unclean more than moisturized.

– Soap & Glory®’s sugar crush body butter with sweet line fragrance.  This is even sweeter than the one above!!!

– Dermadoctor KP® duty body scrub.  While it had a nice smell, the scrub rough and means business in the clean!

Thanks Sephora® for all the perks of being a VIB!  These samples rocked and were fun to try out on vacation!

Just some of my thoughts, guys.  Remember, I have oily and nonsensitive skin.  Sample with caution.

One thought on “Vacation Sampler

  1. I also like to pick up samples of products just to try something new or for a treat if I can’t afford the actual product. But it never occurred to me to use them when travelling. It’s a brilliant idea, thanks for the tip 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

