Face Masks

The first face mask I ever used was the Freeman® peeling cucumber mask in high school.  It was all the rage back in the 1990’s and I remember spending hours peeling off the dried jelly from my face.

Since then, I have branched out from Freeman®, trying all sorts of different masks as a Sephora® VIB (Very Important Beauty) with Rouge status (see http://www.sephora.com for details).  I think that masks are essential in keeping your skin healthy by cleaning your pores and removing the dead skin cells.  I love how fresh my face feels after each treatment and try to use a mask about 2-3 times per week.

But with so many types of masks to choose from these days, how is one to know which is best for whom?  Plus, time has often been a barrier for me to doing masks and I am always trying to figure out how to fit this little luxury into my busy life.  So, after many starts and stops, here are some of my thoughts and recommendations for masks.

IMG_8356

My three favorite masks are these:

Peter Thomas Roth®’s Rose Stem Cell Bio-Repair Gel Mask – goes on smooth and leaves a fresh/tingling feeling after you wash it off.  It is a gel, and so application is on the sticky side.  PTR®’s cucumber gel mask has the same consistency as this one but my skin just doesn’t feel clean after each use.  I love rose (as I have said many times in this blog) and you get that rose scent after using this mask too.  The Bio-Repair is likely what causes the tingling sensation, but I love it!

Fresh® Rose Face Mask – this is not sticky and probably one of my favorites.  It’s got a sandy texture that dries on your face over time and unlike most gel masks, it easily washes cleanly with no filmy residue.  It too smells like rose and leaves your skin not just feeling clean but really soft.

Wei® Golden Root Purifying Mud Mask – I tend to shy away from mud masks because they can be so messy, but this one is FANTASTIC.  It comes with a brush to ease the application and each pod of mud is good for 2-3 treatments.  As the mud dries, you can feel it sucking out all the junk from your pores.  The mask dries pretty quickly, so I tend to wash it off well before the recommended time of 15 minutes.  Even so, my skin feels great after each use.

For all three of these, I try to put them on before I take a shower to save some time.  But the reality is that you can’t really get around the time factor if you want to mask to get the job done right.  In my experience, minimum time for the mask to stay on the skin is about 10 minutes.

On a trip to South Korea a few years ago, I did learn a lot more about skin care and masks.  During  that time, sheet masks were all the rage.  They had all different types, including snail shell and aloe.  Recently, Sephora® has caught on to this trend, making sheet masks of their own and selling sheet masks from other companies like SK-II®.  As someone with oily skin, I am not a huge fan of sheet masks.  They tend to add moisture to your face and my skin always feels very overwhelmed afterwards.  They also keep me from multitasking as I am always afraid that moving around will make the mask fall off.  I also learned during my trip to South Korea that the english word “mask” in facial products can also just refer to an exfoliator, as with the sugar and salt scrubs from Skin Food®.  Such cultural differences that are good to keep in mind as you explore various ways to keep your skin clean and clear. 🙂

But, remember masks don’t take the place of a good skin regiment – you’ve only got one face so take good care of it!

Just some of my thoughts, guys.  Remember, I have oily and nonsensitive skin.  Sample with caution.

Leave a Reply

