roy’s on the big island

Before I left on my trip to the Big Island of Hawaii, everyone kept telling me to make reservations at Roy’s.  (http://www.royshawaii.com/roys-waikoloa.html)  I had been to Roy’s in San Francisco, California, as it is a chain that extends into the mainland, but had thought it to be uninspired and way too salty.  Anyhow, I was so intrigued by how many people telling me that Roy’s is way better in Hawaii, that it was one of the first reservations I made.   And boy, was I glad I did!

We started off the meal with some beautifully furakake seasoned edamame and a Lychee Rosé Sangria:

IMG_9208  I love Rosé wines and together with the lychee, this my new favorite cocktail!!

With so many delicious choices on the menu, it made sense to test out these waters with the tasting menu.  So, our meal started off with this delicious trio of appetizers:

IMG_9211  Up top is the Spicy Ahi Roll with a Firecracker Aioli (with just the right amount of heat), followed by a Chicken Spring Roll with Pineapple Chili Sauce (it’s like a sweet and sour sauce with a kick), and a Szechuan Baby Back Rib with Szechuan BBQ Sauce.  Delicious!!

While out shopping earlier, one of the sales clerks had recommended we try the short ribs with potatoes gratin.  We were excited to find that on the tasting menu!

IMG_9213  One word:  DECADENT.  Rich in flavor, texture, and fat.  And while it was super yummy, we just couldn’t finish it. 😛

My cousin had highly recommended the butterfish, but alas, it was not on the tasting menu.  That didn’t stop me though, from asking if I could switch out for the butterfish as my main dish.  Hey, you never know unless you ask!  And my wish was granted!!

IMG_9212-0  This, my friends, was heavenly.  The miso marinated fish with a sizzling soy vinagrette melts in your mouth with each bite.  The black rice and veggies offered a perfect balance of flavor and texture.  By far, the best thing I have ever eaten in any of my meals in Hawaii.

And to finish our meal, we had the famous Melting Hot Chocolate Soufflé with raspberry puree and vanilla ice cream:

IMG_9216-0

And their Macadamia Nut Tart with caramel and vanilla ice cream

IMG_9214-0

The souffle was super rich and decadent – could have used a second scoop of ice cream to balance the chocolate.  The macadamia nut tart was FANTASTIC and I and definitely going to try to recreate this at home!

Glad I came here for dinner and would totally recommend to all visiting the big island!

http://www.royshawaii.com/roys-waikoloa.html

Leave a Reply

