peanut butter banana cream pie

Channeling the King, Elvis Presley, for a party last weekend, I made a peanut butter banana cream pie from Baked Explorations by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito

IMG_9731  I wanted to make something fun and decadent, so when I came across this recipe, I knew I had a winner.

The crust is made of vanilla wafers, crushed up and baked with butter.  As that is baking, I made their homemade custard for the filling.  Unlike other banana cream pie recipes I have made, the custard itself does not have any banana flavor/extracts added in.  Instead, they have you put freshly cut into the warm filling and let it soak in the banana flavor as it sets up in the refrigerator.

IMG_9721 How natural and clever!

A top is a mixture of peanut butter, cream cheese, confectioner’s sugar and milk.IMG_9728  The recipe called for heavy cream instead of milk for this step, but I had used all of my cream for the custard.  I did have leftover milk from the custard step, and that worked out just fine.

End product:

IMG_9732  Delicious and decadent.  This is one of the best custards I have made and had this mild, fresh banana flavor throughout.  The crust was fantastic – but how can you go wrong with vanilla wafers and more butter?  That peanut butter layer was – OMG – FANTASTIC.  The cream cheese helps to set it up, while adding a tang to cut in the rich peanut butter.  Just what I intended as a show stopper for the party and exceeding my expections ten fold!

Leave a Reply

