Cock-a-Doodle Cafe

This morning, I set my alarm too early and couldn’t go back to sleep.  Bleh.  and on a Sunday too!  So, I headed over to Cock a Doodle Doo Cafe in Oakland, California for a nice breakfast.

We started off with their Thai fried chicken and graham cracker crusted french toast:

IMG_9803  I think the “thai” part of the fried chicken were the spices it was cooked in and the fact that it was pan fried without batter.  The chicken was moist though, with great flavor and crispy skin.  The graham cracker crusted french toast was interesting – on the dry side and I wasn’t given any butter or maple syrup to eat it with.  The service was absolutely terrible and it was hard enough getting a refill on water let alone required condiments for french toast.

We also got one of their omelettes – their Old Oakland – with panchetta, chipotle aioli, green oinions, tomato and cheddar inside.

IMG_9801  My first thought when I saw the omelette was that the egg didn’t look natural.  It had this uniform yellow color that made me think it came out of a carton and not a shell.  The filling was heavy on the aioli and sparse on all the filling, making it more like eggs with a cream sauce.  Not very good.

The coffee was so terrible that I went directly to Starbucks® after I paid the bill.  😛  All in all, it was a rough morning to wake up at the wrong time only to eat a mediocre meal with crappy service and bad coffee.  Hope it’s better next time!

http://www.yelp.com/biz/cock-a-doodle-cafe-oakland-3

Leave a Reply

