Bar Cesar

Cesar has been a fixture on Piedmont Avenue in Oakland, California for as long as I can remember.  It’s got the strongest tequila around and I used to go there all the time.  In the recent years, though, the food hasn’t been that great.  It’s extra tough for them, I guess, since there are so many new places popping up around town with really yummy food.  But a few weeks ago, I checked it out with a good friend of mine for Taco Tuesday!

I started off the meal with a César Paloma cocktail, with Tequila, Grapefruit Soda, Lime, Pamplemousse Rose

IMG_1855  This was yummy – I love grapefruit.

To nibble on before the meal began, we got their chips and guacamole

IMG_1856  The presence of edible flowers was puzzling to me – both with the guacamole and as a garnish.  Not Mexican at all and not that pretty.  Guacamole was ok – I’ve had better and expected more from a place like Cesar.

We then got their shishito peppers with almonds and cheese:

IMG_1847  I think this would have tasted better without the cheese and just letting the roast peppers shine.

This was followed by their grilled corn with cheese:

IMG_1849  Not sure why the alfalfa sprouts were there – it’s a soft and mild veggie, so not enough to add texture or taste.

Their flautas came next:

IMG_1850  WAY too much cheese and again what’s with the edible flowers!!  I actually prefer the flautas at Chevy’s more than these.

Taco tuesday means 1/2 off tacos, so we got their Baja Style Crispy Shrimp Tacos.

IMG_1853 Fried in beer batter and served with a chile aioli and red cabbage, this was actually really good.  Shrimp were so hot and crispy and the aioli was really nice.  The cabbage added just the right amount of texture to each bite.

We also go their Tempura Fish Tacos

IMG_1851 which had tempura fried rock cod, red cabbage, crema, chili aioli, pineapple pico.  While the fish was delicious, these tacos had too much going on.  Too many flavors, too messy, and ended up not being that good.

All in all, I think I’ll be back for Taco Tuesdays but just for the tacos.  And next time, I’ve got to try the meat!

http://barcesar.com/

Leave a Reply

