Best Lil’ Pork House

Growing up as a California girl, good BBQ was not always so readily available.  In fact, my earliest recollections of BBQ were at chain restaurants like Black Angus or Outback Steakhouse.  Recently, I had a chance to visit Nashville, Tennessee, where I got to eat at Puckett’s.  Now, that’s a chain too but it is real yummy.  (for more, check out previous post, https://justcallmequeen.wordpress.com/2015/08/16/nashville-sights/).

When I got home from Nashville, I started to crave BBQ and decided to check out a place that had opened in my neighborhood a few months back called Best Lil’ Pork House.  It’s got two locations in the bay area and the smell of slow cooked meat and sauce hits you as soon as you open the door.

I went with a good friend of mine and we got their “mini beaureguard platter”, which was suppose to be enough to feed 2-3 people.  It came with Half Rack of Ribs, 1/4 lb Pulled Pork and Beef Brisket, 1/4 Chicken, 2 Corn Muffins and 4 Medium Sides:

IMG_1832  My friend and I are good eaters but that is a lot of meat!  It ended up being enough for dinner and a 3-4 meals of leftovers after that.  For our sides, we got their cole slaw, sweet potato tater tots, fried okra, and onion rings:

IMG_1831  These were actually pretty good.  Most restaurants use frozen tater tots but these didn’t taste like it.  The fried okra were yummy and the onion rings were perfectly fried.  The coleslaw had a great tart and creamy flavor and really cut well with the fatty meat.

Like most BBQ places, you’ve got squeeze bottles for more sauce  in original, sweet, and hot. IMG_1834 I only tried the original and sweet but both had great flavor!

So while I’m not in the south, I’m glad that good BBQ is available to me at home!

http://www.bestlilporkhouse.com/

Leave a Reply

