monday meatballs

In the January 2016 issue of Bon Appetit Magazine, the RSVP section had 2 recipes that caught my eye.  The first was for the “stellar quinoa burgers” from Cafe Pasqual’s in Santa Fe, New Mexico:

img_7806  The recipe didn’t work out that well for me.  I ended up using an egg to help bind everything better together because the sweet potato wasn’t enough.  Nevertheless, I still had a hard time making a patty, so I resorted into meatballs instead.  This worked out well because the next page was a recipe for “toasted orecchiette with veal meatballs” from the Red Dory in Tiverton, Rhode Island.

img_7805  These meatballs turned out better but I used pork and chicken instead of pork and veal.  Pretty tasty nonetheless.

To keep things healthy and low carb, I opted to skip the pasta eat both types of meatballs with some boiled kale and tomato sauce.

img_7949

The quinoa ones were just not good, even when they were covered in tomato sauce.  😛

Leave a Reply

