farmstead for lunch

I headed up to Napa Valley on my day off last week for a leisurely late lunch with a good friend of mine.  We settled in with a glass of German Riesling at Farmstead of Long Meadow Ranch in Saint Helena.  It’s a restaurant where the farm to table concept is celebrated each day under the direction of renoun chef, Stephen Barber, and the wood fire oven is put to good use.  http://www.longmeadowranch.com/Farmstead/Restaurant

We started off with my favorite, beef tartar:

img_7814 Served with pickled cauliflower and cornichons, the richness of an egg yolk and capers mixed in the beef makes this dish incredibly decadent.

Feeling in a beef mood, I got their smoked roast beef sandwich with coleslaw:

img_7815  The flavors of the smoke was fantastic.  I ended up putting the coleslaw inside the sandwich to cut the heaviness of a generous portion of meat.  Loved it.

My friend got the sole with wood roasted cauliflower, carrots, leeks and blood orange butter:

img_7816  A classic dish I’ve had at many restaurants in the area, the blood orange butter was fantastic.  The fish was perfectly cooked but overall, a very rich dish.  So, we got some wood roasted brussels sprouts with apples and pancetta as a side:

img_7817  I loved the concept of putting apples in with the brussels sprouts and the execution confirmed a delicious combination.  But with the bacon, this was decadent too!

And after all that, we still had room for dessert!  After winding down with a cup of Stumptown coffee

img_7820

we shared a slice of chocolate cream pie with a graham cracker crust:

img_7818  The chocolate was so rich but each bite was so amazing.

Needless to say, after lunch, I needed to take a walk.  So, I headed down highway 128 to my favorite winery in the area – V. Sattui.

img_7822  The grounds here are beautiful.  In the summer, these grounds are full of life with a bbq grill serving up some delicious meals but on this chilly January afternoon, it was so peaceful to just walk around and work off some of the calories I just ate.  I also stocked up on a few of my favorite wines from here – their gamay rouge (a delicious rose), muscat, and riesling.  🙂  What a great day!

https://www.vsattui.com/

Leave a Reply

