crockpot meals

My friend got me a crockpot for Christmas and I decided to inaugurate it with these two meals:

Chicken chili – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/slow-cooker-chicken-chili-recipe2.html

img_8027  In addition to the requisite meat, beans, and tomatos, there is sweet potato.  I thought it was odd when I first read that in the recipe but this turned out to be delicious!  I added some avocado and corn chips and YUMMY – best dinner I have made for myself in a while!

Then, I tried to go healthy and tried out one of the barley risotto recipes – or specifically, their mushroom barley risotto:

img_8141  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/slow-cooker-mushroom-barley-risotto-recipe.html

They have you carmelize the onions first and cook down the veggies before putting it into the crockpot – that made it cook a whole lot faster than the chili did!  This was ok.  Definitely on the low fat and low salt side but a good healthy dinner for the week!

Leave a Reply

