shark and ray alley

A short ride out from Hol Chan in Ambergris Caye, Belize is Shark Ray Alley.  Looked kinda omnious riding up and I wasn’t sure what I’d see heading into the water.

img_9855

My first view coming in with my snorkel were of sharks and fish:

img_9827

The alley is an area of water where the fisherman used to fish and gut their catch.  The sharks have known to come here for years to feed off the heads and guts off the boats.  Nowadays, they come out to greet the tourists and feed on chum brought by the tour guides:

img_9856img_9857

Fish are food, not friends, Bruce.  Look at them eat!

These guys are beautiful!

img_9858img_9859img_9860img_9861

I found this guy as I was floating around too:

img_9863

What a cool snorkel!

img_9862

Leave a Reply

