Macbeth in Berkeley

I gotta say, I’m not a huge fan of Shakespeare’s tragedies.  They are too long for my attention span and when Shakespeare goes dark, everyone dies.  Because of this, I’m often reticent about seeing these kinds of plays and even more so when they are at night.  But when the Berkeley Repertory Theatre (of Berkeley, California) put on a production of “Macbeth” with Frances McDormand and Conleth Hill (Varys from HBO®’s “Game of Thrones”), my friend told me to suck it up and bought us some standing room tickets.

Friends, I haven’t done standing room since I was a student on a budget living in New York City.  So, the thought of standing room through a Shakespeare tragedy did not fill me with a lot of enthusiasm.  But BOY, was I pleasantly surprised:

image

This was fantastic.  Frances McDormand and Conleth Hill may be the known stars of the production but the talent throughout was so impressive.   The play was shortened and finished in about 2.5 hours (thank GOD).  And the standing room situation?  We were given bar stools to sit on behind the orchestra.  So wonderful and comfortable.  The only annoying part was we were seated next to a young couple (who were probably still in college) who talked through the whole production – no respect and likely there to just star gaze.  But, bravo to the cast and those who helped to produce this play – I loved it!

Leave a Reply

