the gin game

Last weekend, I went to see “The Gin Game” at the Altarena Playhouse in Alameda, California.

image  If you had been keeping up with this part of my blog, you’ll remember that I thought the 2015 season at the Altarena was terrible.  It was so bad in fact, I didn’t renew my subscription until well after the New Year (which is terrible because I’ve been a subscriber for years and really do want to support all the local arts).  The first show of the year was the “Ring of Fire”, which I wrote about here: https://justcallmequeen.wordpress.com/2016/02/23/ring-of-fire/.

The second show was “The Gin Game”, which I had no problems getting a ticket to.  But this was TERRIBLE.  It is a 2 person play about couple who meet over a game of gin while living in a low income retirement facility.  The character development was atrocious and the entire play was an awkward display of random emotions and a disjointed retelling of their past.  I think my issue with this production was more over the writing and the directing than the actual talent.  The talent was great but you can only be as good as the material you have to work with.

The best part of the night were the refreshments.  Julie’s coffee and tea in Alameda (http://juliestea.com/), is the vendor who usually provides cookies and coffee – mostly chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin, and sugar.  But this was the Friday before Easter adn we got something special – black and white cookies and easter sugar cookies!

image  I think the ones I make are better (see posts for “black and white cookies” and “easter cutouts” under weekly confections) but these were pretty good too.  🙂

Sigh.  Hope the next one is better…

Leave a Reply

