snorkeling the blue hole in belize

Going to see the Great Blue Hole in Belize has been on my bucket list for a long time.  I don’t scuba dive and hadn’t thought about going until someone told me that I could snorkel the hole instead!  Diving would allow you to see the great stone formations at the ocean floor, but I just wanted to see corals and fish!

Sailing in, you can see the deep hole reflecting a dark blue at the surface of the ocean:

img_8878

Coming in to the boundaries of the hole, you can see all the corals around the edge:

img_8846

Jumping in, you are immediately surrounded by corals and they are beautiful!

imageimageimageimage

Very similar fish and corals to what I saw on my other snorkels at Ambergris Caye (https://justcallmequeen.wordpress.com/2016/03/20/north-channel-an…he-coral-gardens/)

As you snorkel close to the edge of the hole, it was really cool to see how the depth of the ocean turns the water a deeper blue:

imageimage

Swimming this close to the edge was very cool, but the currants made me feel like I was going to get sucked in!

imageimage

Diving down, you can find other critters hiding below,

image  But it was a pretty gloomy day and so everyone was hiding out.  😦

But what a great experience and a check off the bucket list!

image

One thought on “snorkeling the blue hole in belize

Leave a Reply

