pumpkin cheddar muffins

When I first saw this recipe in Baked Explorations by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito, I was totally skeptical.  Pumpkin muffins are one thing but pumpkin cheddar muffins?  I had to check it out.  So, this week’s confections are these goodies that my office had for breakfast this morning!

I doubled the recipe and was able to make 18 jumbo muffins (6 jumbo muffins to a tin).  I chose to double the recipe because a singular recipe called for 1 cup of canned pumpkin. But a standard 15 oz can has approximately 2 cups – how can I waste half?

The batter has an interesting combination of sugar and spice.  It uses only brown sugar but there is some cayenne and black pepper added too!

image  I topped off each muffin with some pumpkin seeds for crunch!

End result?  The moistest and most flavorful muffin I have ever had.  The texture was just right with the seeds on top and the cheddar was a surprising element to each bite.

image  Add some bacon or sausage and it’s a meal!

Leave a Reply

