coqueta

I have been a long time fan of celebrity chef, Michael Chiarello.  The first time I ever had squid ink pasta was at Tra Vigne, Michael’s now-closed restaurant in St. Helena, California.  I remember tasting the pasta and thinking that Michael was an absolute genius.

Tra Vigne is now closed but I’m glad that I can still enjoy Coqueta San Francisco, Michael’s restaurant by the Bay in San Francisco featuring Spanish cuisine and this great view:

image  I have been here a several times and here are some of my favorite plates…

Their croquetas de pollo are always a winner:

image  Crisp on the outside, soft but not mushy on the inside, and great flavors.  There are three oranges on the side, which are quite random, but sweet.

My friend really likes kale and so we often get this salad:

image  It’s got kale, fava beans, rhubarb, and warm english pea dressing.  Not my favorite but you get your greens!

My favorite is their octopus:

image  which is wood grilled and served with chorizo.  Yummy.

Duck and pork meatballs with tart cherry-tempranillo salsa and crispy shallot are very flavorful:

image  Back in the day, this was a duck breast with a chorizo and tart salsa on top but I much prefer these meatballs.

Typically, patatas bravas are cut up potatoes that are fried and served with aioli.  Here, patatas bravas are fried whole new potatoes, served with bravas salsa and aioli:,

image  I love the crispy potato skins and the sauces are great.

And who doesn’t like breakfast for dinner?  I love it.  So, it’s hard to resist their “Sunny side-up” Huevo With Shrimp, crispy potato strings, and chorizo dressing:

image  I would eat this for breakfast any day!

Dessert is great here too. I got this on my last visit:

image  Molton cake made with rice and milk (arroz con leche) with huckleberries and arroz con leche ice cream.  This is yummy. 😉

In the past, I have enjoyed their frozen sangria:

IMG_5050  So flavorful and does not skimp on the alcohol!

Their flan:

IMG_5059  with a crispy basket that was so yummy together.

And, of course, the churros with dipping chocolate:

IMG_5060  This always takes me back to warm and lazy afternoons in Spain.  Love it.

A stroll along the pier after a great meal at Coqueta is a great way to end the night!

IMG_5063

Leave a Reply

