Thuyen Vien – Vegan yumminess

A couple of weeks ago, I was visiting my sister and brother-in-law in Anaheim, California.  We were in the mood for Vietnamese food and stumbled into Thuyen Vien.  It has great Yelp® reviews and it’s vegan too!

We got things started with their “banana flower tacos”, which were tempura banana flowers served with tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado, and crispy cabbage on a rice cracker:

image  This is fantastic.  The banana flower tempura was beautiful and went great with the fresh veggies.

I got their “duck noodle soup” with yellow wheat noodles, gogi berries, bok choy, and smoked soy duck:

image  The broth was intense in flavors and I loved the soy duck.  The noodles tasted just like egg noodles too!  Gogi berries are weird to me – my mom used them in a lot of herbal soups growing up and I just never liked them.

My brother in law got their “Pho Ga”, where the “ga” is a soy chicken and not real chicken:

image  The broth was intensely flavored with allspice and chives, served with mushrooms and tofu.  Loved the textures in this and didn’t miss the real chicken!

My sister got their Bun, made of cold vermicelli with soy pork, egg roll, and veggies:

image  This was great too!  I think of all the dishes, this was the one we really couldn’t tell the difference from this dish with real meat.

All in all, the meal really hit the spot for our Vietnamese cravings in a surprising way that we didn’t end up missing the meat!

No website, but address and phone number are:  1740 Euclid St, Anaheim, CA 92804;  (714) 490-0242

Leave a Reply

