experiementing with peels

I’ve talked quite a bit about masks in this blog but what about peels?  Initially, I was worried about peeling off a layer of skin but the concept is essentially the same as an exfoliator.  Here are are some that I have tried as a Sephora® VIB rouge member:

Korres® wild rose vitamin C petal peel – 2 step brightening and resurfacing system.  Step one was a jelly that dried in 30 seconds and step 2 was like a thick pink mousse like cream to wash your face.  Left skin very soft and clean.

Skin Inc® pure revival peel – a gel that is left on the skin and then rubbed off.  As I rubbed this off my face, I could see the layer of skin coming off with it.  I was surprised that this did not make me feel dry afterwards but there was a little bit of a residue that I had to wash off.  Otherwise, my skin felt great after – like all the grime has been peeled off my skin.

Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta® peel original formula – a 2 step wipe system.  The first was a “surface refiner” and the second was a “deeper treatment”.  I felt no difference before or after the peel.

Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta® ultra gentle daily peel – a step step wipe system.  Step 1 was to exfoliate and smooth, step 2 was to firm and life.  I actually felt more rejuvenated with this than with the original formula.  My skin felt more “clean” with step 1 than with the original formula and soft after step 2.

Dr. Dennis Gorss Alpha Beta® glow pad for face – the tingling was intense with this with a singular yellow colored pad with a sweet odor.  It was suppose to be self tanning but there no change in color with a 3 day trial.  I stopped at that point because the tingling was scary for me and I was worried about any type of allergic reaction.    Unfortunately, my face had a brown residue with each wash for days aftewards. 😦

Bliss That’s Incredi-peel – also a wipe for the face.  The tingling was intense and I used it before bed.  I didn’t feel any different in the morning and still woke up with my usual oily residue.

Peter Thomas Roth PROfessional Strength 40% Triple Acid Peel – this is a viscous liquid that is applied onto your face with a sponge pad.  It’s got salicylic acid, TCA, and glycolic acid.  As it goes on your face, it is immediately absorbed into your skin and creates a tingling sensation.  It stays on for about 2 minutes and then rinsed off.  I was a bit worried about all the acid in this and so I used a mild cleanser to wash off the peel.  Afterwards, my skin literally felt like all the grime of my face was peeled off.  A tad bit drying at the end and so, make sure to follow with a serum.

Just some of my thoughts, guys.  Remember, I have oily and nonsensitive skin.  Sample with caution.

One thought on “experiementing with peels

Leave a Reply

