exfoliating the day away

Last week, I blogged about some skin peels I had been testing out.  Even though I didn’t have any adverse reactions to those peels, they still do scare me a bit with all their tingling and, in some cases, a layer of skin actually peeling off.  Exfoliators, or scrubs, essentially achieve the same goal as a peel, and here are some thoughts on some that have come through my personal beauty bar:

Korres® Grapeseed Deep exfoliating scrub for oily skin – there are big sand granules in this that can be rough to the skin.  My skin is very oily, so I wasn’t so sensitive to the strength of the scrub.  There is a sweet smell to this creamy cleanser and I liked the polish it left.  Too much for everyday though – it was a bit rough for my skin if used a few days in a row but not bad for 2-3 times per week.

Korres® Kiwi Gentle exfoliating scrub for dry skin – this is the complete opposite of the Grapeseed scrub.  This one has small sand granules and very gentle to the skin.  Instead of a creamy texture to the cleanser, it is more of a gel and much thinner as you squeeze it out.  There is also a sweet smell to this, but like the Grapeseed, it is not overpowering.  For my oily skin, this is just ok.

Dr. Brandt Skincare® Microdermabrasion Age Defying Exfoliator – this is like fine sand in a thick cream.  There is a minty smell and tingly feel as you scrub it against your skin.  My skin felt refreshed and smooth afterwards.

Dr. Brand Skincare® PoreDermabrasion™ – this has a very fine sand in a cream with the same minty smell as the microdermabrasion.  My skin, however, didn’t feel as clean afterwards but it did feel polished and a bit firmer.

Murad® AHA/BHA exfoliating cleanser – this squeezes out as a thin white liquid that can be best described as a sandy milk.  The sand granules are not very concentrated, however, making it more of a cleanser.  My skin felt really clean and gently exfoliated afterwards.

Murad® Skin Smoothing polish – this is a thick, pink cream with small sand granules mixed in.  It is meant to tone and shrink pores, making my skin feel firmer afterwards.  It gives gentle clean and didn’t dry out my skin as much as some other “firming” cleansers or masks.

Kate Somerville Exfolikate® – this comes out like mud with granules in it.  The sand is very rough and the mud cleanser provides a really deep clean.  Definitely only use 2-3 times per week because it really sucks out all the oil and dirt in the pores, leaving my skin a little dry afterwards.

GlamGlow® Mud to Foam cleanser – I’ve talked about this before in my post GlamGlow (https://justcallmequeen.wordpress.com/2016/08/09/glamglow-masks/).  This is similar to the Exfolikate® in it’s muddy and sandy appearance but I like it better.  There is more mud than sand in this and it really foams up as you work it against your skin.  It leaves my skin with a really good clean and I can use this daily without drying out.

Origins® Modern Friction – this is a thick cleanser with very small sand granules mixed in.  It doesn’t foam up too much and my skin felt more polished than really clean afterwards.  Because of that, I use this in tandem with Origins® Checks and Balances.  (see previous post “Cleaning with Origins”)

Origins® Ginzing™ Refreshing Scrub Cleanser  – I also talk about this in my previous post, “Cleaning with Origins”  (https://justcallmequeen.wordpress.com/2016/07/21/cleaning-with-origins/).  This has exfoliating beads and not sand granules throughout and gives you more of a reenergizing effect with ginseng and caffeine.

Yu-Be® Foaming Skin Polish – this has big sand granules mixed into a creamy cleanser with a pretty good density.  I actually HATE the YuBe moisturizing skin cream because it smells like some nasty Chinese medicine.  This has a very slight floral smell and not offensive at all.  However, the clean is just OK and I would not choose this when there are so many other better exfoliators on the market.

Ole Henriksen® Walnut Complexion Scrub – this smells like almond abstract which, as a baker, I thought was great.  There are thick sand granules in this that almost seem to melt away as you are rubbing it against your face.  My skin had a really nice clean afterwards

Ole Henriksen® Truth Sugar Glow polishing mask – this had a weird orange smell, almost like rotten oranges.  You notice this smell right as you open the jar and lingered as it was on my face.  The mask dries pretty quickly, which I was grateful for given the smell.  The mask is washed off, leaving my skin very clean and polished but also very dry.  Make sure you follow this with their truth serum®.

Laura Mercier® Flawless skin face polish – this had standard sized sand and left my skin with a standard clean.  Didn’t really stand out to me and I wouldn’t go out of my way to use this long term.

REN® Jajoba Microbead Purifying facial polish – this also has a standard sand size and was not densely packed into the cleanser.  The “purifying” part of the name is a great way to describe how the cleanser really sucked all the oil and dirt out of my skin.  My skin was left feeling very dry but with a good clean, polish.  I definitely applied a serum after this one.

Just some of my thoughts, guys.  Remember, I have oily and nonsensitive skin.  Sample with caution.

Leave a Reply

